The Head and The Heart announce new album and share song "Missed Connection"

Seattle folk rockers The Head and The Heart announced their fourth album, Living Memory. The record is out on May 17th and available for pre-order here.

The band shared our first listen from the record called “Missed Connection.”

“Missed Connection” starts out as a remembrance of how lead singer Jon Russell met his girlfriend. The song then takes on the serendipitous coming together of the group ten years ago in Seattle at an open mic night.

Criss-crossed in the wrong direction, found myself in a conversation, from a missed connection. Staring at a purple dress, want me eyes in the right direction. Find myself in a conversation, from a missed connection.”

The Head and The Heart got together early last year to record in Joshua Tree.

“In my mind, the songs on this album are vignettes,” lead singer Jon Russell says. “Like ‘Brenda’ reminds me of when you’re a teenager at a house party. You’re surrounded by noise—‘What am I doing here?’—and a ray of light comes down and you notice this person. You’re like, ‘Maybe I will stay.’ These songs feel honest.”

The group experienced a little turnover between the recording of this album and 2016’s Signs of Light. Their guitar player, Josiah Jonson, moved on. And the group added vocalist/violinist Charity Rose Thielen’s husband Matt Gervais on guitar and the return of keyboard player Kenny Hensley.

Living Mirage Tracklisting:
01. See You Through My Eyes
02. Missed Connection
03. People Need a Melody
04. Honeybee
05. Brenda
06. Running Through Hell
07. Up Against The Wall
08. Saving Grace
09. I Found Out
10. Living Mirage
11. Glory of Music

© 2019 Corus Radio, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories